

www.CAPTG.ca

# <u> Meeting Minutes – CAPTG Inc. Annual General Meeting</u>

Ottawa, ON February 20, 2020

#### Attendees:

Name	Organization
George Nowak	Hatch
Graham Karlowsky	Transport Canada
Mike Sucee	Crafco Inc.
Michael Simons	Aramid Fibres/Nilex
Dave Anderson	Associated Engineering
Tim Smith	Cement Association Canada
Doubra Ambaiowei	Ontario Road Builders Association/
	Ontario Asphalt Pavement Council
Drew Dutton	Transport Canada
Edward Abreu	Pave-AI / University of Waterloo
Chris Olidis	Applied Research Associates
Kevin Chee	GTAA
Myron Thiessen	DND
Jared Mitchell	DND
Richard Blommers	Tetra Tech
Leanne Whiteley-Lagace	Stantec (via WebEx/telecon)
Jessica Hernandez	Englobe (via WebEx/telecon)

Welcome: **Myron Thiessen** opened the meeting @ 1100 by welcoming everyone to the meeting.

#### **Review of Previous Meeting Minutes**

- 1) **Richard Blommers** reviewed the minutes from the Annual General Meeting (AGM) held in February 2019.
- 2) Myron Thiessen moved to adopt the minutes as read. Graham Karlowsky seconds the motion. CARRIED.

#### 2019 Financial Report

- 3) **Jared Mitchel** provided an update of the current financials. As of February 20th, 2019, our bank balance was just over \$46,765, up from last year slightly. We are in good financial standing. Net positive including \$4,000 grant to Edward.
- 4) 2020 Budget numbers were presented by Jared Mitchell.
  1. Projected income is \$22,850 and projected expenses are \$24,725.



www.CAPTG.ca

- 2. Expenses include increase in February planning meeting (\$1,000 to \$1,500), Website Up-keep and Improvements (\$300 to \$2,300), decrease in legal fees (4500 to \$0).
- 3. **Myron Thiessen** motioned we adopt the 2020 Budget as proposed. **George Nowak** seconded. Vote was unanimous in favour. **CARRIED.**

#### Membership Update

- 5) **Myron Thiessen** put forward a motion to invite the following people who have expressed interest in CAPTG to be Members of CAPTG Inc.
  - 1. Michael Simons
  - 2. Edward Abreu
  - 3. Drew Dutton
  - 4. Doubra Ambaiowei
  - 5. Tim Smith

Motion was seconded by Graham Karlowsky. Vote was unanimous in favour. CARRIED.

- 6) **Myron Thiessen** motioned to remove 5 members from the CAPTG Inc. Membership list in 2019 as follows:
  - 1. Sandy Brown
  - 2. Faustin Habiyaremye
  - 3. Alice Kroll
  - 4. Andre Leclerc
  - 5. Sherry Sullivan

Motion was seconded by Mike Sucee. Vote was unanimous in favour.

- 7) Myron Thiessen motioned to award Honourary Membership to the following:
  - 1. Marla Hughsman
  - 2. Greg Kline
  - 3. Ray Clement

Motion was seconded by Mike Sucee. Vote was unanimous in favour.

- 8) General Membership grows to 21 members as of February 20, 2020.
  - 1. **Richard Blommers** and **Jared Mitchell** to update the list of members to ensure all members are current as per the rules contained in the By-Laws.
- 9) Sustaining Members expected to grow in 2020 with the recruitment efforts discussed at the Planning Meeting. **Richard Blommers** and **Jared Mitchell** to update numbers as required.

#### **Board of Director Elections**

- 10)Board was elected to 1- and 2-year terms in 2019. The following 6 Board members were elected to 1-year terms.
  - 1. Vince Aurilio (private industry)



- www.CAPTG.ca
- i. Vince's position was left vacant upon his departure from the Ontario Asphalt Pavement Council earlier in 2019.
- 2. Ken Fyvie (private industry)
  - i. Will let name stand for re-election.
- 3. George Nowak (private industry)
  - i. Will let name stand for re-election.
- 4. Jessica Hernandez (private industry)
  - i. Will let name stand for re-election.
- 5. Dave Anderson (private industry)
  - i. Will let name stand for re-election.
- 6. Leanne Whiteley-Lagace (private industry)
  - i. Will be off on maternity leave next year so will retract her name if others are willing to step forward.
- 11)Drew Dutton (public) and Richard Blommers (private industry) put their names forward for Board positions.
- 12)This will fill the 6 vacancies.

## 13)Board of Directors, Election Term, and Expiration Year:

- 1. Graham Karlwosky (public) (2 YEAR; 2021)
- 2. Mike Sucee (private industry) (2 YEAR; 2021)
- 3. Chris Stewart (private industry) (2 YEAR; 2021)
- 4. Myron Thiessen (public) (2 YEAR; 2021)
- 5. Jared Mitchell (public) (2 YEAR; 2021)
- 6. Kevin Chee (public) (2 YEAR; 2021)
- 7. Ken Fyvie (private industry) (2 YEAR; 2022)
- 8. George Nowak (private industry) (2 YEAR; 2022)
- 9. Jessica Hernandez (private industry) (2 YEAR; 2022)
- 10. Dave Anderson (private industry) (2 YEAR; 2022)
- 11. Drew Dutton (public) (2 YEAR; 2022)
- 12. Richard Blommers (private industry) (2 YEAR; 2022)

# Myron Thiessen motioned. Graham Karlowsky seconded. Vote was unanimous in favour. CARRIED.

### Appointment of Officers

14)The Officer appointments were made by the Board:

- a. Chair: Myron Thiessen
  - (motioned by **Drew Dutton** seconded by **George Nowak**)
- b. Vice Chair (private industry): Jessica Hernandez
  - (motioned by Myron Thiessen, seconded by Graham Karlowsky)
- c. Vice Chair (Public) Graham Karlowsky
  - (motioned by Myron Thiessen, seconded by George Nowak)
- d. Secretary: Richard Blommers



- www.CAPTG.ca
- (motioned by Myron Thiessen, seconded by Graham Karlowsky)
- e. Treasurer: Jared Mitchell
  - (motioned by Myron Thiessen, seconded by Mike Sucee)
- 15)In addition to the Officer positions contained in the By-laws, the Board deemed it necessary to appoint the following additional Officers:
  - a. Technical Program Officer: Leanne Whiteley-Legace with assistance from Doubra Ambaiowei (motioned by **Myron Thiessen**, seconded by **George Nowak**)
  - b. Asphalt Technical Officer: Doubra Ambaiowei
    - (motioned by Myron Thiessen, seconded by George Nowak)
  - c. Concrete Technical Officer: Tim Smith
    - (motioned by Myron Thiessen, seconded by George Nowak)
  - d. Academic Program Officer: Edward Abreu
    - (motioned by Myron Thiessen, seconded by Graham Karlowsky)
  - e. Information Technology Officer: TBD

#### Other Business

16)\$56 write off of loss to get off books.

**Adjournment: Myron Thiessen** adjourned the meeting. The meeting was adjourned at 11:09 AM.