

Meeting Minutes – CAPTG Inc. Annual General Meeting

Virtual Meeting – Microsoft Teams March 16, 2021, 11:30 (all Eastern Time)

Attendees:

Name	Organization
Kevin Chee	GTAA
Mary Coyne	EIA
Lincoln Chan	Hatch
George Nowak	Hatch
Graham Karlowsky	Transport Canada
Drew Dutton	Transport Canada
Jason Tran	Transport Canada (APM Port Hardy)
Mike Sucee	CRAFCO Inc.
Ken Fyvie	SNC-Lavalin
Zlatko Brcic	SNC Lavalin
Kevin Lake	SNC Lavalin
Chris Stewart	Stantec
Jessica Hernandez	Englobe
Myron Thiessen	DND
Jared Mitchell	DND
Shila Khanal	Applied Research Associates
Chris Olidis	Applied Research Associates
Dave Anderson	Associated Engineering
Richard Blommers	Tetra Tech
Grace Oyeyi Abimbola	University of Waterloo
Frank Mi-Way Ni	University of Waterloo
Dr. Basher Hassoun	Gulf Engineering House, Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Amma Wakefield	Asphalt Institute
Doubra Ambaiowei	Ontario Road Builders Association/Ontario Asphalt
	Pavement Council
Tim Smith	Cement Association Canada
Enrico Stradiotto	Canadian Concrete Pipe & Precast Association
Brandt Henderson	Brandtworks Contracting and Consulting Inc.
Michael Simons	Surface Tech
Edward Abreu	Pave-Al

Welcome: **Myron Thiessen** opened the meeting at 11:40 am by welcoming everyone to the meeting.



1. <u>Review of Previous Meeting Minutes</u>

Richard Blommers reviewed the minutes from the Annual General Meeting (AGM) held in February 2020.

Myron Thiessen moved to adopt the minutes as read. Ken Fyvie seconds the motion. CARRIED.

2. Financial Update and 2021 Budget Approval

Jared Mitchell provided an update of the current financials. \$0 income, \$9,675 expenses. Advertising number subject to change (tabled).

Suggestion to consider academic scholarship (tabled).

Approve budget with understanding of health pandemic and potential for another slow year.

Myron Thiessen moved to approve the 2021 Budget. **Tim Smith** seconds the motion. **CARRIED.**

3. CAPTG Membership Update

Myron Thiessen noted there are no removals, no honourary members, just general members.

Special resolution to extend general membership requirement for attendance to four years due to health pandemic.

Myron Thiessen moved. Chris Stewart seconds the motion. CARRIED.

4. Election of Board Members

The following Board members terms are expiring this year. The ones noted let their name stand for re-election.

- 1. Graham Karlwosky (public) (2 YEAR; 2021)
- 2. Mike Sucee (private industry) (2 YEAR; 2021) name put forward
- 3. Chris Stewart (private industry) (2 YEAR; 2021) name put forward
- 4. Myron Thiessen (public) (2 YEAR; 2021) name put forward
- 5. Jared Mitchell (public) (2 YEAR; 2021) name put forward
- 6. Kevin Chee (public) (2 YEAR; 2021) name put forward

Myron Thiessen moved to re-elect those letting their names stand for a 2-year re-election. **Drew Dutton** seconds the motion. **CARRIED**.



Graham Karlowsky noted that he would let his name stand for a 1-year term, ending in 2022 due to retirement.

Myron Thiessen moved to re-elect those letting their names stand. **Richard Blommers** seconds the motion. **CARRIED.**

The Board of Directors, Election Term, and Expiration Year are as follows:

- 1. Ken Fyvie (private industry) (2 YEAR; 2022)
- 2. George Nowak (private industry) (2 YEAR; 2022)
- 3. Jessica Hernandez (private industry) (2 YEAR; 2022)
- 4. Dave Anderson (private industry) (2 YEAR; 2022)
- 5. Drew Dutton (public) (2 YEAR; 2022)
- 6. Richard Blommers (private industry) (2 YEAR; 2022)
- 7. Graham Karlwosky (public) (1 YEAR; 2022)
- 8. Mike Sucee (private industry) (2 YEAR; 2023)
- 9. Chris Stewart (private industry) (2 YEAR; 2023)
- 10. Myron Thiessen (public) (2 YEAR; 2023)
- 11. Jared Mitchell (public) (2 YEAR; 2023)
- 12. Kevin Chee (public) (2 YEAR; 2023)

5. <u>Appointment of Officers</u>

The Officer appointments were made by the Board:

- a. Chair: Myron Thiessen
- b. Vice Chair (private industry): Jessica Hernandez
- c. Vice Chair (Public) Graham Karlowsky
- d. Secretary: Richard Blommers
- e. Treasurer: Jared Mitchell

In addition to the Officer positions contained in the By-laws, the Board deemed it necessary to appoint the following additional Officers:

- a. Technical Program Officer: Leanne Whiteley-Legace
- b. Asphalt Technical Officer: Doubra Ambaiowei
- c. Concrete Technical Officer: Tim Smith
- d. Academic Program Officer: Edward Abreu
- e. Information Technology Officer: Edward Abreu

The Appointment of Officers was done by acclimation; motioned by **Myron Thiessen**, seconded by **Dave Anderson. CARRIED**.



6. Other Business

Dave Anderson asked about follow up meetings. Myron noted that CAPTG will likely meet again in mid April as the SWIFT/AEG relationship unfolds.

George noted that the American Society for Civil Engineers Airfield and Highway Pavement conference is virtual in June.

Adjournment: Myron Thiessen adjourned the meeting. The meeting was adjourned at 12:02 pm.