

Meeting Minutes - CAPTG Inc. Annual General Meeting

Virtual Meeting – Microsoft Teams Thurs. Feb. 17, 2022, 1130 – 1200 EST

Attendees:

| Name | Organization |
|--------------------|--|
| Kevin Chee | GTAA |
| George Nowak | Hatch |
| Graham Karlowsky | Transport Canada |
| Drew Dutton | Transport Canada |
| Mike Sucee | CRAFCO Inc. |
| Ken Fyvie | Pavetech Consultants Ltd. |
| Jessica Hernandez | Englobe |
| Myron Thiessen | DND |
| Jared Mitchell | DND |
| Chris Olidis | Applied Research Associates |
| Dave Anderson | Associated Engineering |
| Dr. Basher Hassoun | Gulf Engineering House,Riyadh, Saudi Arabia |
| Doubra Ambaiowei | Ontario Road Builders Association/Ontario Asphalt Pavement |
| | Council |
| Tim Smith | Cement Association Canada |
| Michael Simons | Surface Tech |
| Edward Abreu | Avia NG |
| Zuller Botero | YYC |
| Monty Wade | Applied Pavement Technology |
| Jozef Grajek | (retired) Pavement Engineer |
| Joseph Chen | Stantec |
| Richard Blommers | Tetra Tech |

Myron Thiessen opened the meeting at 11:30 am by welcoming everyone to the meeting.

1. Review of Previous Meeting Minutes

1.1. Richard Blommers reviewed the minutes from the Annual General Meeting (AGM) held in February 2021.

Myron Thiessen moved to adopt the minutes as read. **Ken Fyvie** seconds the motion. **CARRIED.**

2. Financial Update and 2022 Budget Approval

- 2.1. Jared Mitchell provided an update of the current financial statements for 2022.
 - 2.1.1. \$0 income, \$3k expenses.
- 2.2. Sustaining Memberships scheduled to be collected this year.
- 2.3. Workshop Budget





- 2.3.1. Live Production (AEG) = \$2410, Hotel AV = \$3200 (rough estimate), Coffee Break = \$16/person x 35 people x 1.25 (gratuities+tax) = \$672, Networking cash bar = \$20/person x 35 people x 1.25 = \$875, Total Expenses = \$7157
- 2.3.2. In Person = \$125/person x 20 people = \$2500, Virtual = \$50/person x 40 people = \$2000, Total Income = \$4500.

Myron Thiessen moved to approve the 2020 audited financials and the 2022 Budget. **Tim Smith** seconds the motion. **CARRIED.**

3. CAPTG Membership Update

- 3.1.21 General Members
- 3.2. Per last year's AGM, general membership requirement for attendance at a CAPTG event was extended to 4 years.
- 3.3. Vince and Leanne were considered under extenuating circumstances and will remain as general members.
- 3.4. Removed Stephen Burbridge.

Myron Thiessen moved. Richard Blommers seconds the motion. CARRIED.

4. Election of Board of Directors

The following Board members' terms are expiring as of this 2022 AGM. The ones noted let their name stand for re-election.

- 1. Graham Karlwosky (public) (1 YEAR; exp. 2022)
- 2. Ken Fyvie (private industry) (2 YEAR; exp. 2022) let name stand
- 3. George Nowak (private industry) (2 YEAR; exp. 2022) let name stand **for 1 year term**
- 4. Jessica Hernandez (private industry) (2 YEAR; exp. 2022) let name stand
- 5. Dave Anderson (private industry) (2 YEAR; exp. 2022) let name stand
- 6. Drew Dutton (public) (2 YEAR; exp. 2022) let name stand
- 7. Richard Blommers (private industry) (2 YEAR; exp. 2022) let name stand

Myron Thiessen moved to re-elect George Nowak for a 1-year term. **Richard Blommers** seconds the motion. **CARRIED.**

Myron Thiessen moved to re-elect those letting their names stand for a 2-year re-election. **George Nowak** seconds the motion. **CARRIED.**

Myron Thiessen moved to elect Vince Aurilio to the Board of Directors to fill the 12th director position. **George Nowak** seconds the motion. **CARRIED.**





The Board of Directors, Election Term, and Expiration Year are as follows:

- 1. Vince Aurilio (private industry) (2 YEAR; 2024)
- 2. Ken Fyvie (private industry) (2 YEAR; 2024)
- 3. Jessica Hernandez (private industry) (2 YEAR; 2024)
- 4. Dave Anderson (private industry) (2 YEAR; 2024)
- 5. Drew Dutton (public) (2 YEAR; 2024)
- 6. Richard Blommers (private industry) (2 YEAR; 2024)
- 7. George Nowak (private industry) (1 YEAR; 2023)
- 8. Mike Sucee (private industry) (2 YEAR; 2023)
- 9. Chris Stewart (private industry) (2 YEAR; 2023)
- 10. Myron Thiessen (public) (2 YEAR; 2023)
- 11. Jared Mitchell (public) (2 YEAR; 2023)
- 12. Kevin Chee (public) (2 YEAR; 2023)

5. Appointment of Officers

The following Officer appointments were made:

- 1. Chair: Myron Thiessen
- 2. Vice Chair (private industry): Jessica Hernandez
- 3. Vice Chair (Public) Drew Dutton
- 4. Secretary: Richard Blommers
- 5. Treasurer: Jared Mitchell

In addition to the Officer positions contained in the By-laws, the Board deemed it necessary to appoint the following additional Officers:

- 6. Technical Program Officer: Leanne Whiteley-Lagace
- 7. Asphalt Technical Officer: Doubra Ambaiowei
- 8. Concrete Technical Officer: Tim Smith
- 9. Academic Program Officer: Edward Abreu
- 10. Information Technology Officer: Edward Abreu / Mohammed Kamala

The Appointment of Officers was done by round table discussion to determine names to stand and then by acclimation; all motioned by **Myron Thiessen**, seconded by **Ken Fyvie**. **CARRIED**.

6. Other Business

None.

Adjournment: Myron Thiessen motioned to adjourn the meeting, seconded by **Richard Blommers.** The meeting was adjourned at 11:50 am.